Major Project Proposal

Major Project proposal

Recently I have been looking through my photography and was seeing what was missing to complete my dream of becoming a fashion photographer. In this project proposal I would like to explore about surrealism and its aspects in fashion photography. This could change within the next semester however I know for a fact I want to further my knowledge on using photoshop, lightroom and InDesign to create surreal photography. As of layout, I believe it will be best to produce big A1/A0 prints to show my photography on a large scale. Our university has the great advantage of having a printing lab and therefore it would be necessary for me to use it while I’m still studying there and create something phenomenal. 

Making large format prints will allow me to get use to publishing my work on a bigger scale for future exhibitions or to have them sold as photograph prints. Furthermore, this projects proposal will definitely connect with my dissertation proposal as I would be exploring surrealism in fashion photography. 

I have always been interested into surrealism, since the early stages in high school, I wanted to do something different, something unique, something that catches the viewers eye instantly. My future photography will include a storyline within photo series. There are many photographers, artists and authors who can relate to surrealism and its power. I want to research and analyse the way our subconscious mind processes memories, artwork and mind tricks on a daily basis. The phenomenal book ‘The interpretation of dreams’ by Freud, S. and Robertson, R. (1999) I found some initial starting points in dream symbolism for instance boxes represent the fear of something being unseen from or keeping a secret from others; Teeth can be a sign of nerve-wracking about appearance. Hair is a representation of looking to fix some personal relationships or to embrace one’s sexuality. By including ambiguous prompts and accessories within my shoot it aids my concept. Moreover, I would like to shoot my major project in our studio on campus because it will give me a range of lighting such as gel lights or rings lights that could come useful to play with juxtapositions and compositions in the work space and as I am very familiar with it and feel comfortable working on set. Now it is a great time to search for very photogenic and stylish models that I could use, the sooner I find them, the sooner I can study their work, their postures and how they look on camera overall.  

Surrealism has been hugely influencing the fashion industry since its breakthrough. Surreal Chic at Valentino’s 2010 catwalk had projected surreal film montages on to the backdrop of the catwalk. Alexander McQueen has dressed women n feathers, shells and butterflies. His 1997 show ‘La Poupee’ was directly dedicated to photographer Hans Bellmer. McQueen explored notions of manipulations of the body on his runway, shown in his accessorising his model with a cage like contraption. What I find interesting about surrealism is the idea to reveal a story within photographs that allows the audience to feel an emotion and can create their own story or experience a view into another person dreams. 

An artist that I find particular interesting is Tim Walkers fashion photography. His work is very imaginary based, in his Alice and wonderland work and Babes in the wood, the surreal overtones are cosmic. His images can expose and create memories, that show a fairy tale world associating with Irving Penn’s observation that ‘Fashion photography is about selling dreams and not clothes’ Penn is someone I will for sure be looking forward looking into and reading about his ideas to further understand fashion and the beauty of it. Lastly as stated before, I would like to construct a series of photographs that show this magical photo manipulation and make an interesting series of large-scale prints to showcase them framed. This will really get my photography noticed from far and maybe even seek opportunities from the public. 

Bibliography:

  1. Freud, S. and Robertson, R. (1999). The interpretation of dreams. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
  2. Baudot, F. (2002). Fashion & surrealism. Paris: Editions Assouline. 
  3. Gordon, I. (2004). Theories of visual perception. Hove: Psychology Press. Taylor & Francis Group.
  4. Walker, T., 2020. Tim Walker on The Inspiration Behind His Darkest, Most Surreal Photographs. [online] British Vogue. Available at: <https://www.vogue.co.uk/arts-and-lifestyle/article/tim-walker-shoot-for-the-moon-photography-book&gt; [Accessed 10 September 2019].
  5. Martin, R., 1987. Fashion and Surrealism. London: Thames and Hudson.