Artist Research: Chris Saunders

ST - Artists, ST - Research

A photographer and director, Chris Saunders’s work is typically vibrant, fresh, appealing and experimental, with a characteristic ‘street’ quality and engaging humour. He tends to be a storyteller, which really works well with this unit’s idea. Hailing from a background in fashion photography, Saunders increasingly approaches all his projects from the standpoint of a visual storyteller. He seeks to create realistic, believable characters from all walks of life, and uses a considered, research driven process to build authentic, emotionally stirring stories in visual media.

In all teamwork, Saunders seeks out individuals who are ‘masters’ in their own creative fields, those he can learn from. He is in continual pursuit of knowledge, dedicated to pushing boundaries, ‘to always incorporating something new, interesting and fresh’.

 Chris has inspired me massively with his line of street-style, fashion and his portraiture work. In my opinion Saunders creates stories within his work with the help of the models and their style. Each clothing style he chose in his shots work so well with the backdrops, the culture and the model itself. In my photography for my latest and modern fashion clothing I chose a simple and clean background that could also complement my models’ style and didn’t look vintage; I wanted natural street style shots. Additionally I also managed to use selective colour on one of the shots to create a cool tone to it and leave his body in black and white to complement the clothes and background, its contrasted well enough for the viewer to not get lost but guided with their eye towards my model.   

Leave a comment