Artist Research: Steven Meisel

ST - Artists, ST - Research

Born in 1954, Steven Meisel became debatably the most significant and productive fashion photographer of his generation. In a body of work notable for its imaginative range and diversity, he has achieved dominance in both editorial and advertising fashion photography. He is the primary photographer for the American and Italian editions of Vogue, where his covers and fashion pages have regularly appeared since the late 1980s, and he has produced some of the most memorable fashion advertising ever created, including campaigns for Versace, Dolce & Gabbana, Prada, Valentino, and Yves Saint Laurent, among a long list of advertising clients. 

Unlike many fashion photographers who base their work on a signature style, the character of Meisel’s work is intriguingly diverse. Steven once stated “Inspiration comes from all over the place,

“I’m eager to soak up new information as it can be from the nineteenth century as long as it’s new to me. It can come from going to the grocery store or looking at an artist from a million years ago”. From this quote I believe that Meisel, is a very intelligent individual who can sense an idea from the environment round him. Relating to my project about the evolution of fashion, Steven teaches me that artists or myself could get inspired from anything around us, and this further can develop to a meaningful and successful work or art or photography. In the shots above you can see three perspectives from the lens.

 One is a profile close up shot which focuses on the model’s facial features and the details of the clothing, in my photoshoot I also have that shot in which my model is captured torso up, with his hand on the collar to show off the specific detail on the arm cuff which has been cut off. The second is an object shot of shoes of the model which focuses on the texture, in which it’s how long they have worn them for, shoes create history and bonds with people as you can even say that you’ve walked in those specific pair in a memorable place. In my shoot, I present a close up of my model’s belt which he wears everywhere he goes, this further relates to Stevens photoshoot and the worn shoes that’s in the shot. 

The third shot is a full body shot of the body, which additionally showcases the background which is a calming field. In my final photoshoot, the environment is a park which was the closest I could find to a field. 

Steven Meisel have definitely inspired me with this project because of his diversity of ideas and compositions. His pictures do more than just show off expensive clothes. They tell a story, often focusing on political and social topics that most other photographers tend to shy away from. Racism, terrorism and domestic violence have all played a part in his work, causing a flurry of media storms worldwide. Meisel’s photography makes you think. 

Leave a comment