Workshop: Photoshop Re – Touching

ST - Workshop

I really enjoyed this workshop as I feel really confident with postproduction such as using the photoshop software. Here I will present two photos, one which is the original and the next one is after editing. There is one little thing that is different to when I normally edit. I used the Wacom digital editing tablet. At first it was difficult as I never had my hands on a piece of technology like that. I first had to change the settings before doing any adjustments. You can adjust the sensitivity and buttons on preferences. 

Soft is very sensitive and firm is the opposite: 

A screen shot of a computer

Description automatically generated

You can adjust what area you want your pen to work in, this allows you to only focus on specific areas such as the eyes or lips. 

A picture containing indoor, refrigerator, monitor, computer

Description automatically generated

The getting into the actual retouching we used the High and low frequency re touching technique. 

High frequency is about the details and the texture of the photograph such as the skin. Whereas the low frequency is about colours, so the cold or warm tones and shadows. 

I firstly Duplicated the layer to have a background layer and name it colours and texture.

After I made these adjustments: Texture- add Gaussian Blur, Colour- image- apply imagine.

A picture containing monitor, indoor, microwave, screen

Description automatically generated

These affects made my image look like this, a mask looking feature:

A flat screen television

Description automatically generated

Lastly, go to linear light and take the colour and texture layer and group them together. This this made the mask come off and made me carry on with editing such as removing imperfections, adding tones, using the burn and dodge tools to lighten and darken features such as teeth and eyebrows. Using the liquify tool I improved her facial features such as her jawline, her lips to make them pop more, made her eyes slightly bigger and adjusted her cheeks to make her even prettier in my opinion. 

In extension, I learnt how to make my photograph in photoshop be printed in the A3 size. 

Add border 

Image

Canvas size

Clock Relative

Choose you centimetres 

Press okay 

Then go to layer

Flatten to make it white

A picture containing indoor, sitting, monitor, front

Description automatically generated

Here I present my Before and after:

Leave a comment