My Initial Project Idea for Fashion Film

Fashion Film

I want to begin with saying that this was one of the hardest projects I had in this course however I am always up for a challenge. In this scenario it was producing footage to a fashion movie. As I never shot an actual video in my life, I had to use some inspiration from the bigger artists. Two rappers that collaborated on one song called Praise the Lord by Asap Rocky and Skepta shows the contrast between London and New York City in their music video. There are fast shots of both places, they swap from one to the other or even use split screen to show both scenarios at once. By watching this video, it gave me an idea to create something similar whereas I would be using the setting of Cuba and Central London streets to show their differences, the fashion, the scenery and how people act differently in the opposite environments. 

Let’s start with London as I want to talk about the city I live in and see on a daily basis. London City is a home for fashion, designer and streets. People that walk in central London do dress in a way to be suited to their lifestyle or their occupations. The Youth will wear whatever is trendy at the time, adults would wear more casual or smart clothes depending on the situation and fashionistas would dress up in a way that they could be seen by everyone. Streets of London do look dirty, they look damp however they are full of life and energy. 

On the other hand, people in Cuba are not as wealthy, they mostly care about comfort and not to overheat because of their strict weather conditions. Cuban fashion is mostly to be straw hats, shorts and vests as any other forms of clothes would simply be a danger to their body. Whilst staying in Cuba for a week, I observed that the only humans who actually care about their image are tourists and the natives most likely wear replicas of known brands. Furthermore, Cubans look at life differently the way us British people do. They want to live to their best lives out there, they don’t mind being unsuccessful but as long as you have a loving family and a good job, your life is set there.

My London Model named Konrad comes from a fashion background as he was always interested into it since he was a kid. Curtis which is y model from Cuba doesn’t really care what he wears and that is exactly perfect as it shows the difference between them. The settings that I will choose strictly will definitively pair with the models clothing styles. Such as having a long trench coat and sneakers in the streets and having shorts, t-shirt and bare feet on the beach will explicitly show the contrast. I hope my fashion film will convey my audience into believing that I am shooting two different worlds, cultures, scenery and people and it will really show the opposite lives they live. 

Image result for cuban fashion mens
Related image

To conclude my video idea, I would like to sum up the different aspects and features I want to include in my three-minute film. There should be footage of the beach, pier, swimming pool, rocks, palms, hotel, streets, luxury hotel, low angle shots, slow motion shots, rewinds, fast forward shots, models walking or running, bridges and showing off the clothes or accessories. 

Leave a comment