Fashion film inspiration

Fashion Film

I recently viewed an amazing peace of art featuring the one and only Cara Delevingne. The video is set in two various places on the beach, on a high swing, in cars and on a pier. That really motivated me to respond to this video and have rapid cuts during the clips, have energetic music and that’s what people tend to associate beaches with- fun and exciting vibes.

Here you can see the model on a high swing standing rather than sitting because why not right, it shows that she is ready to push the boundaries.

Here is my favourite frame from this fashion film, the screenshot looks like the shot was taken out of paradise or from a painting. In my resort in Cuba I had a similar frame of my model walking down a pier onto the beach backwards. It shows their journey, they interaction with the beach.

In contrast to this video clip I decided to choose a Nike advert featuring a known English grime rapper called SKEPTA. The video swooshes from scene to scene rapidly after a simply phone call that SKEPTA is having. I really liked the quick transitions, the fast forward and slow motion effects. And the locations that were used really inspired me to visit them myself for my own video.

For instance a simple corner shop:

Another one is on the street, this ahit is fast forwarded:

Having people dancing:

And lastly I would like to talk about the choice of music as well. The producer and maker of this short clip used many British grime tracks as the main character sings in that genre. It simply shows how much, sound, audio or soundtracks mean when it comes to editing fashion films. If for instance this had a county or pop song it would really relate. Moreover it’s a Nike brand and that’s a sports brand which means when you exercise you listen to upbeat and fast songs.

Leave a comment