Artist Research – Atiba Jefferson

Personal Project, Uncategorised, Visual and Contexual Research

Atiba Jefferson is a successful skateboard photographer, a founding member of The Skateboard Mag, and an in-demand commercial photographer who’s done work for Nike, Adidas, Pepsi, Mountain Dew and the like. After taking photography classes in high school, in 1995 Atiba moved from Colorado Springs to San Diego.

I believe that Atiba creates extravagant photography within the skateboarding industry. His style of making black and white photography draws my attention and gives me the sense of balance and it makes me focus more on the skateboarder than the surrounding or other objects in the shot. Furthermore I enjoy looking at the photograph of the tattoos on the mans knee caps. It gives authenticity to the shot and it gives me the idea of his character being a rebel and he could easily break the boundaries in skateboarding.

Leave a comment