Environmental Background Shoot

Environment, Research, Test Shoots, Visual Practice

Norway, Oslo

Photo shoot

Recently I’ve been lucky enough to experience going to perform a photo shoot on the Ski Slope in Norway. Gathering a model and time of day was crucial as without them the photoshoot would have come out unsuccessful. I’m proud to say that the colours of the outfits the model was wearing was considered with the cold colours of the backdrop. The snowy, hills and bare trees contrast with the really warm, navy jacket. I considered that any background during this photoshoot had to link with the subject, it had to tell you a story about them. Using numerous compositions, I learnt a photo could be really different by the way the models chin is facing or the way they are standing or kneeling could reflect on domination of the photo( Who is in control, the photographer or the model?).

While changing into the black jacket, I wanted to show off the warm, furry hood which was zipped out so it could have been exposed. My placing my subject sideways, it enabled the photo viewer to see the details of the jacket and the facial expression of the model.

Lastly the photograph of the subject with one leg up was connecting with the Tippi in the background, because it is so cold outside, when you go inside the Tippi you suddenly get warmer and therefore I wanted my model to slowly take of his jacket to show the change in the temperature and also expose the details of the jacket.

 

Leave a comment