~DSLR Induction/ Studio Workshop

Test Shoots
  • Welcome to my first post on my this blog. Here I will illustrate numerous shots from the workshop I have experienced with our studio expert Nina. Going from up to bottom, the first photograph really pointed out to me about the use of space and aperture. the perfect composition allowed me to make my subject the focal point and having the background as really old-fashioned/industrial lamps fulfilled the overall texture of the environment my subject is in. Furthermore, I planned to include a snooker rod in my shot to give a little back story of my model, I wanted to enhance his personality by connecting the industrial lamps and the pool rod to make this shot an environmental portrait.
  • The second and third photograph has been taken within the campus on the staircase because of the fantastic window light I could capture in my shots. Using only a depth of field of f.stop 8 I could have my subject really in focus while the background got blurred. on the second shot I had a friend holding a light reflector onto my models face in order to make his face more brighter adding more detail and texture to his skin tone. The third photograph was a classic, using a brick wall background created an edgy/urban look and the window had a perfect beam of light shinning across my models face which created this amazing effect of spot lighting.
  • Fourth and fifth photo is a side profile, with and without a tint of a glaze into the lens by my subject. This created an intense stare with the audience; sometimes when a subject looks directly at the camera it can create discomfort. On the other hand not looking at the lens created either tension or intrigue. I could have either shown my audience the object or landscape my model is looking at or hide it. I created a mysterious shot as it gets my audience to question their imagination.
  • The 6th, 7th and last photograph(11th) were taken on the balcony of our campus. This enabled me to experiment with the view and of course the natural lighting and perspectives. I had my camera set on f.stop 10 and an ISO setting of 250.
  •  Lastly photographs 10 was planned to create the hiding of identity. It was captured by using water Vape smoke which had mostly layered the top half of his face. After by using Adobe Lightroom I edited the photograph by changing the smoke colour to green by changing the HUE to make it far more interesting and also using small adjustments I reformed the contrast, exposure and vibrance I made my outcome look more professional than its original form.

Leave a comment